Atchison County

Atchison County Kansas

Established in 1855, Atchison County was one of the original 36 counties of Kansas. It is named after David Rice Atchison, a U.S. Senator from Missouri and pro-slavery advocate. The county seat is Atchison, Kansas.

Atchison County Attractions and Events:

  • Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum. 
  • Amelia Earhart Festival
  • Atchison County Historical Society Museum
  • Glacial Hills Scenic Byway
  • Atchison Trolley
  • Muchnic Art Gallery
  • Atchison County of thirteen courthouses designed by George P. Washburn.
  • Benedictine College
  • Evah Cray Home Tour
  • Historic Homes of Atchison Driving Tour
  • Mount St. Scolastica Chapel and Convent
  • International Forest of Friendship
  • Atchison Railroad Bridge and Bridge Tenders Office.
  • Independence Creek Lewis and Clark Historic site.
  • Atchison Santa Fe Railroad Depot

Back to Kansas Counties

Tags: Eastern Kansas

  • All
  • Central Kansas
  • Eastern Kansas
  • Western Kansas
  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random