Bourbon County

Bourbon County.svg

 Established in 1855, Bourbon County was one of the original 36 counties of Kansas. It is named after Bourbon County, Kentucky which is where many of the original settlers came from. The county seat is Fort Scott, Kansas.

Bourbon County Attractions and Events:

  • Historic Fort Scott--Founded in 1842 Fort Scott was an important Military Fort during the Civil War as well as the Indian Wars.
  • Fort Scott National Cemetery--One of the fourteen original National Cemeteries designated as such by President Abraham Lincoln in 1862. 
  • Block House (Fort Henning)--The only surviving of the three original blockhouses that were constructed to help fortify the Fort during the Civil War.
  • Fort Scott Trolley Tours
  • Historic Fort Scott Downtown Walking Tours
  • Historic Victorian Homes of Fort Scott
  • Barnesville and the Magic Mile (original mile of the Military Frontier Road)
  • Gordon Parks Museum and Photo Exhibit 
  • Lyons Twin Mansion Tours
  • Bandera Stone Quarry
  • Bourbon State Fishing Lake--Located outside of Elsmore, Kansas the lake features a 30 foot water fall below its spillway that generally flows from around April to June.
  • Kansas Rocks Recreation Park--features 28 miles of offload trails for four wheel drives.
  • 1881 Fort Lincoln School
  • Timber Hills Lake Ranch--Offers private hunting and fishing along with lodging for families or individuals.

Back to Kansas Counties

Tags: Eastern Kansas

  • All
  • Central Kansas
  • Eastern Kansas
  • Western Kansas
  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random